IMPORTANT NOTE: you may only submit once. Revisions after submission are not permitted. If you withdraw your script, and re-submit it, re-submissions will not be considered. 

The Relentless Award, established in honor of Philip Seymour Hoffman and his pursuit of truth in the theater, is the largest annual cash prize in American theater awarded to a playwright in recognition of a new play.

Eligibility/Criteria for Submission:

  • Play must be unproduced.
  • Authors must have either United States citizenship, possess a green card, or currently reside in the United States and have lived here for at least four years.
  • Plays with a producer, producing organization or theater attached for future production are not eligible.
  • One-act plays, musicals and plays for children are not eligible.
  • The author must be at least 21 years old.

Please see our FAQ here for more information. We highly recommend reading the FAQ before submitting, as some of the details provided are relevant to the eligibility of your submission. 

American Playwriting Foundation